ACD committees are a great way to involved with the organization, learn more about operations, and make meaningful change in the field of community design. If you're interested in learning more, please reach out to the respective committee chairs and they'll be happy to chat.



The Executive & Finance Committee is responsible for the overall management of ACD. This includes determining yearly budgets for the committees, monitoring income and expenses, and establishing long- and short-range goals.

Committee Members
President Allie O'Neill, Vice President Shannon Arms, Secretary Heidi Schattin, Treasurer Stephen Klimek



The Communications Committee tells the stories of community-engaged design. Through our website and social media, this team answers all questions posted to Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, and amplifies the amazing work of our colleagues and members. Check back to see our Member Spotlights, coming soon!

If you have announcements you'd like us to post, please feel free to contact us.

Committee Members
Ashley Flintoff (chair), Stephen Klimek, Ifeoma Ebo, Alexa Bosse, Allie O'Neill


In collaboration with the host, the Conference Committee establishes a theme and values for ACD's annual conference, identifies topics particularly relevant to our field and/or the place, and supports a competitive call for proposals. Committee members secure funding to support a conference that furthers the field of community-engaged design. 

Committee Members
Shannon Arms (chair), Alexa Bosse, Allie O'Neill



Community Design Research is a project being led by ACD as part of long-term research effort to understand how community design education is changing around the country, and to identify best practices in the process. ACD is currently undertaking funded Racial Justice Research. We hope to help create new networks between community design educators and program directors and, ultimately, advance the field of community design by helping to strengthen the education and training of its future leaders. 

Committee Members

Gilad Meron (research director, board emeritus),  Ifeoma Ebo, Josh Budiongan



The Fellowship Committee's primary focus is on support and management of the Association for Community Design fellowship. The 9 month program for practitioners to increase their knowledge and skills in community-engaged design welcomed the inaugural group of fellows in 2019. The ACD Fellowship offers strategic and holistic support for a cohort of designers, planners, and other built environment professionals, in order to build their capacity in the practice community-engaged design. 

Committee Members
Heidi Schattin (chair), Shalini Agrawal (director of fellowship, board emeritus), Bucky Willis